terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Small Improvements

A deep breath and a decent night's sleep can work wonders.

I'm not exactly hopeful about work, but today I have an opportunity to wear blinders and concentrate on putting together a data set for testing my ideas. It requires painstaking precision, but not a lot of ingenuity.

This I consider a Good Thing (TM) because it lets me detach a bit from the the idea-generator side of myself which gets so frustrated in having to deal with the forces of Complacent Inertia.

At least I seem to have broken through the defenses of a few of the stalwarts of Willful Ignorance, which I count as a minor triumph. I have managed to get the idea across that if a source prominently displays a notice that their data is not to be republished without permission, that we need to ask permission even though we have used it with impunity for years.

Yes, it is much easier to let the sleeping dogs lie, particularly if you think the sleeping dogs are going to charge you heavily for the privilege of being woken up. But if you try to sneak past with a bone, then you better make sure you have an argument that holds up better than "but you never complained before."

Oi.

10:09 a.m. - 2005-11-09
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora