terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Locked Out

After a few adventures yesterday afternoon, I got to see the new Pride and Prejudice. It is rather better than I expected. My quibbles about costuming, etc. are relatively minor. But unless you know the book, a lot of the story transitions come off as abrupt and arbitrary. They did make a good effort to condense and keep to the events in the book, where in fact a little less faithfulness and a little more judicious pruning might have served the movie better. The last scene, however, stunk. It was a very stupid coda and completely unnecessary.


The adventures consisted of locking myself out of the condo for a second time in less than a year. I was chatting with friends and simply walked out the door without my keys. Blessedly, I have left keys with Keilyn and Ormswyn, and the gallant Ormswyn was home and could rescue me. Again and for the second time in less than a year.

As soon as I can I am heading to the Home Despot [sic] and getting one of those doorlocks that are both keyed and keyless. I can beg someone to let me in the security door, but my own door is another matter. The cats simply will not answer when I knock, much less let me in.


In fact yesterday was a strangely disconnected day. The ladies who came over for soup either had trouble finding the place or were late for odd reasons. One managed to get there a mere 10 minutes before we left for the theater.

One of the ladies who was to join us could not find the theater and missed us entirely. We tried to find a place for dinner afterward, and managed to confuse one of us, who went to a different place and then gave up on the larger party.

Oh well, at least no one got towed from my parking lot.

7:15 a.m. - 2005-11-14
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora