terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

House Problems

I'm having another moment where one marvels at the reach of the Internet and power of Google.

I have two house problems at the moment.

1) The cats are behaving very badly now that I've had to close off the balcony.

2) It is clear I am losing my ability to process exceptions and that I'm going to forget my door key again one of these days when distracted.

Seek and ye shall find.

Problem 1 means finding a way to let the cats out upon demand, yet my doors do not allow for the conventional pet door installation.

Well, there are the coolest insets for sliding patio doors that require no installation (like screwing things permanently in place). You just open the door, put the panel in place, adjust a few spring mounts and close the door. Voila! Now, these are not cheap, especially the kind designed to minimize drafts and be energy effcient, but thankfully I'm not poor and it seems a perfect solution.

Problem 2 just means finding the right combination of features that fits my needs and my front door. However, I had no idea there was such a variety of keyless entry systems. Again, these are not cheap, but neither is a visit from the locksmith.

Anyway, it is all confirmation of my theory that none of my problems are new, and that someone out there has already devised a solution.

The world can be full of ingenousness, and I am to some extent comforted by the thought. Help can be found, if you look.

Which reminds me, it is time to get the furnace serviced. ;-)



Like this would surprise anybody.
Elvish
Elvish

To which race of Middle Earth do you belong?
brought to you by Quizilla

12:48 p.m. - 2005-11-14
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora