terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Travel Worries

Why am I starting to feel uneasy about my trip to England? I think it is because of the current batch of riots on the continent. I guess I fear it could spread to that lovely island.

It is a good reminder about why not to repress selected populations, with or without intent.

We're bad enough here about us and them-ing, but at least we've made some steps in addressing structural racism. But there?

My co-worker, who is a Frenchwoman of color, has previously mentioned how difficult it was for her to gain access to the best university programs or break into the elite jobs market in spite of the highest qualifications. It happens here, but the establishment isn't the monolith it used to be. Even among the good ol' boys I see among the Washington appointees there are more faces outside the WASP mold.

Anyway, the veneer of civilization can be mighty thin at times. It isn't a very comfortable thought.

Were I being cynical, I would note that at least the exchange rate has improved. Oooo, that's such a comfort.

7:44 a.m. - 2005-11-15
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora