terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Another I Hate My Job Moment

I must subdue my urge to resort to Alienating Sarcasm.

My boss' boss has sent me an e-mail asking if what I have been proposing for months is actually what I have been proposing for months. It appears he didn't get the idea the first 10 times it was explained over the past year.

The upside is that I am receiving an object lesson in the necessity of repetition to get ideas across, and that I have done well to constantly restate and reiterate my ideas and goals.

The upside is that he got it before we are absolutely committed to the project and have determined how to proceed.

The upside is that I am taking a few minutes to breath deeply and compose my thoughts before firing off a reply that essentially calls him an idiot. He's not. He's just not very tech savvy and he's used to working in an outdated model. It isn't that he's unwilling to make changes or completely uneducable.

The upside is that I have another appointment with my career counselor this afternoon. I am going to ask questions about how to cope. I hate many aspects of this job. I hate the commute. I hate the office environment. I don't hate my co-workers, but neither do they contribute to making my job more productive or pleasant. I don't hate 5 weeks of vacation or a very comfortable salary. What do I want?! I don't know anymore, other than a very great deal of the time to be left alone.

6:40 a.m. - 2005-11-16
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora