terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The BritRail Pass Arrives

I begin to do a little happy anticipatory dance. The BritRail pass has arrived! A little over 5 weeks and I shall be on an airplane bound for Heathrow. I shan't even mind a week of raw drizzle and arthritic joints if I can suffer amid medieval stones. Although it reminds me to bring a stash of Vitamin I.


Once again I appear to have lost command of the English language at work. A simple request to update some calendars and run the 2006 version on the wire appears to be beyond anyone's comprehension. I am completely fed up with this sort of passive assumption that someone else will do it when that someone often proves to be me. Not a new rant, I know. One simply dislikes intensely not having the authority to go back and instruct someone nicely that this logically falls under their work responsibilities and would you please step up to it in the future?

I've been reading more on personality types and I definitely have to remember that what is obvious to me simply isn't as obvious to others. I need to exercise patience, repetition and courtesy. Not high on my skills list.


Another weekend with the family looms. It will be ok, and it in fact nudges me into thinking about holiday stuff. I was going to skip the annual lasagne-thon, but my favorite sister asked me to bring my specialty to feed the masses on Saturday. If I'm making enough for them, I might as well go all out. It won't make significantly more mess, and I can buy in volume. Costco here I come.

Now, to tree or not to tree? Maybe.

9:24 a.m. - 2005-12-01
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora