terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Vacation Time Muddling

Everyone should have my problems. Well, no, everyone should have my current problem.

Yesterday the boss sent around a notice that said he'd failed to credit any of our time off to our personal days having instead done so against vacation time. Since personal days are use-or-lose, and I have three, I have arranged for a few days between Christmas and New Years. Effectively I have the week off, and probably in fact will do so. Very nice and convenient and all that, especially only two weeks before I go on vacation. Oh, the irony.

But then my boss said we should check over the vacation time log for the past year and let him know of any discrepancies. Well, I took off all of last February. He charged me for 1 vacation day. When I pointed this out, he essentially shrugged it off and wouldn't adjust the count. And there were no other vacation days logged for the rest of the year. It is possible I didn't take any more time off, but surely there were one or two days in there.

My boss is one of the nicest men on Earth, but I'm not comfortable with this. Even though most of the February leave was carryover from the prior year, I can't help but wonder why I'm getting the big break when no one else is (he's lenient in general, but this is exceptional).

So it looks like I'm going into 2006 with 20 days of vacation time that I don't quite feel I've earned plus my normal 5 weeks to come. I like time off, but somehow it doesn't seem fair in the cosmic sense. I've got a job that doesn't tax me too much (I'm unhappy, but it isn't like the work is overly hard), the pay is above decent, and I rarely have to do any overtime. Almost everyone I know has to carefully parcel out their leave time to fit in all their obligations and recreation, and their jobs seem to make untimely demands on their schedules.

Damn I feel guilty. Also rather fortunate. Oh well, perhaps I should plan a post-graduation victory tour in June. I always have wanted to drive across the U.S.

7:30 a.m. - 2005-12-02
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora