terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

No Class, For Once

I was sharply reminded today that I grew up poor(ish).

I once told a friend the story about how my mom would buy gallons of milk at the PX and then freeze them so she didn't have to go to the regular (more expensive) grocery store (seven children drink a lot of milk). As they were defrosted she'd mix them 1/2 and 1/2 with powdered milk. It was really dreadful, and bearable only when mixed with other foods. Which may have been the point, i.e. to get us not to guzzle milk. For years after I grew up I wouldn't touch anything but whole milk.

Anyway, my friend reminded me of the story today, telling me she'd tried the freezing trick. Worked for her. Which is good, but the memory makes me gag a bit.


Be careful what you wish for, you may get it. I've been wanting a night off from algebra, the school cancelled classes last night for our local dusting of snow. Great, except I now have to cover the sections on my own and still have to do the homework for next week. But it does mean only one more night of class. I may live. I may not pass, but I'll live.


Instead of doing anything particularly useful with my night off, I entered more books in LibraryThing (I'm up through the zen and well into Jungian psychology) and watched a movie (Homme du Train or Man on the Train). It was good, but like entirely too many French movies views everything through the prism of sex. Even Frued knew that sometimes a cigar is just a cigar.

1:28 p.m. - 2005-12-06
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora