terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It Is Bloody Unfair

I wonder if I have grounds for a sex discrimination lawsuit? My co-worker -- who is a nice guy and does his work, albeit without any real distinction from my perspective -- got the employee of the year award.

Now, I am not saying he didn't deserve the award, and I'm not saying I did. But I cannot think of a single bit of real innovation in his work in years. He shows up and does what is on his plate and does not look much beyond it. This is laudable in a way, and more than many a person does. But I'm the one instigating change and productivity gains, etc., and actually accomplishing them.

It bloody well isn't fair, and life isn't fair, and I'm probably blowing the whole thing way out of proportion, but I can't help wondering if the ol' XY chromosone thing was at work.

Were I a man, I wouldn't be strident and pushy, I would be forecful and assertive; my work ethic would be praised rather than a given. My work wouldn't be an adjunct to someone else's, it would be a notable accomplishment in itself.

Bastards. Once the algebra final is done, I am going to find a new job if it kills me. In which case I wouldn't need a new job. Grrrr. Can't win.

12:55 p.m. - 2005-12-08
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora