terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Visit the Walters, Now!

If you are at all interested in such things, get to the Walters Art Gallery in Baltimore and have a look at the Glory of Novgorod exhibit. Of course I had the pleasure of seeing it with a bunch of amatuer historians which included two Russian speakers, so perhaps this colors my impression.

Still, it is quite fascinating to see the cross cultural influences and how paganism held on discretely for a few centuries after the official conversion to the Byzantine church. It is also interesting to realize just how conservative their artistic culture was. As one of my impromptu guides noted, it is clear Russia never saw the Renaissance, and that is key to understanding them now.


While there on Sunday we could not resist the acoustics. To avoid getting thrown out, we waited until we were in the lobby in our coats before breaking into the Northern Harmony version of While Shepards Watched Their Flocks by Night. We tried to sing discretely, but the room favored us, and we were quite audible. At least the guard applauded.


At least I got all the algebra homework done on Saturday, and enjoyed my day out without guilt. Tonight is the last night of instruction, to be followed by the dreaded final next week. The end is in sight. The Gods Be Thanked. I must go sacrifice something to ensure I pass. Perhaps I already have: my sanity.

7:05 a.m. - 2005-12-12
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora