terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Day 2 in London

I could almost leave happy today. Yesterday I went to Westminster Abbey (among other places). I couldn't find the anchorite site, so I asked a guide, and he didn't know, so he sent me to visit the library, where the librarian did know. I got to go into the actual library, climb a bunch of stairs to his office, and then he took me to the muniments room (what are muniments?) where the gallery overlooks the chapel where the anchorite window was. It is now a doorway to a small room where they arrange the flowers for services. Too cool, huh? Then I went down and had a closer look, but you can't take pictures, and of course, no book about the Abbey actually has that uninteresting view. It is the St. Benedict's chapel in the south transcept right around the corner from the Poets Corner, in case you care at all.

Today was down to Portsmouth for the Merry Rose tour, which was very cool, and then back up with a quick trip to the Temple Church to visit William Marshal. Alas, the church as closed, so no luck, but I did get over to the British Library where I made a small impression in the bookstore's inventory.

Tomorrow shall be Hampton Court followed by another try on the Temple Church. The sign says it will be open 13:00 to 16:00. I can only hope. To visit this tomb was one of my primary objectives this trip. I should hate to be disappointed.

Oh, and my feet still hurt.

5:57 p.m. - 2006-01-11
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora