terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Today's Distractions

Today I must design a database. At least I am trying to do it from home where I listlessly await the A/C repairperson. I am not sweltering through the summer again as I did last year, and I am not waiting until everyone turns on their A/C to find out it is broken, and thus have to enter the long queue of the desperate.

The database should be easy since I've started this process umpty million times. Part of the problem is that as I go along over the years my thinking and skills have evolved, so I'm never sure what to keep and what to discard. Today I am simply favoring mass discard and start from scratch. It is not like anybody actually cares or knows what I will do, and I much prefer a clean slate.

It is in part hard to get started because of much angst on one of the peerage lists to which I am privileged to be a member. I made the potential mistake of actually expressing disapproval (much toned down from my original thoughts, I assure you). Surprisingly, I don't seem to have bitten off more than I can chew as the general response has been in agreement.

There a certain relief in that, but my O/C nature means I keep checking the list to make sure no one hates me. ;-)

It is one thing to be tolerant of human foibles, it is another to be quietly indulgent of repeated offensive behaviors. But I'm such a stick I'm never sure if I'm being too intolerant or experssing proper moral indignation, and so often remain silent. Coward.

11:01 a.m. - 2006-05-17
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora