terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Long Weekends, ... Ah!

Ah, the weekend was entirely too short, even though I managed four days off.

I actually was a bit social, having had lunch and shoe shopping with my favorite Countess on Monday, and movie and a dinner with Knitgeek and Fin on Tuesday.

I also managed to whittle my way through the partially read book stack. I recently went on a book buying binge that created a reading backlog that is embarrassing even considering my voracious appetite for printed material.

Monday morning I decided that because I had no air conditioning and an achy back that it was the perfect moment to rearrange the furniture.

Actually, it wasn't too bad since most of my pieces are relatively small and will scoot over carpet without extraordinary effort.

I like the results. The TV is now in the living room (with the bonus of an improved picture because of less ambient light). It is cozier, and probably more comfy than my IKEA chairs in the little entertainment area. I believe I shall now convert that to the library, or will when I can afford some tall bookcases because the ones I have are too short and fat. Or perhaps it should become the sewing room. Hmmm. Must mull domestic thoughts.

It has also caused me to move some paintings around and necessitated getting out the acrylics because I now need one to fit in the area about the TV which is shallower than it was. This does not displease me as I was kind of hankering to do a little daubing. I started the underpainting last night and it promises well. The proportions seem to be working.


Superman Spoilers Alert!

I did not like Superman Returns. It was, as Knitgeek so accurately said, a pastiche of Superman movies and offered nothing original. I was mightily annoyed at all the product placements. They might as well have put a Timberland logo on the S-man's boots.

I am sorry, but anyone dedicated to "Truth, Justice and all that" would not be particularly pleased to learn he had a son whose parternity was being fobbed off on a decent, unsuspecting man, nor would he fail to try to make things right when he discovered what had gone on in his absence. The moral paucity that Hollywood is trying to pass of as noble sacrifice does not cut it with me.

And is there really any point to the Clark Kent disguise anymore? At one time it worked because a newsroom would be a great way to find out what is going on in the world, but why would Supermand need it today?

Deeply disappointing.

9:53 a.m. - 2006-07-05
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora