terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Torture of Being Nice

I wonder if my patience will survive today's session.

Yesterday the poor guy who sits next to me was completely lost and needed a lot of hand holding. I did what I could, but I was ready to strangle him by 11:00 a.m. I think he's in his 60's and he clearly is uncomfortable working with computers. It was cruel to send him to the class. He's got that kicked puppy look that both elicits pity and makes you want to scream at him at the same time that this isn't that hard. And he's soooo grateful, which makes me feel awful because I don't want to help him and the only reason I'm doing it is so that we can get something done in class instead of waiting for him.

It is indeed a good thing I'm not a parent. The repetition and kindness needed to bring another human being along just isn't in my nature. If I couldn't focus on getting home to peace and quiet, I'm afraid of just how rude I could be to someone who's only trying to get through an personal ordeal. The problem is that he's making it an ordeal for others.

Anyway, I think one of my bigger revelations from this week is that I actually did learn a lot during the past few years about managing information and that I am ready to take up a more technical job.

7:31 a.m. - 2006-07-26
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora