terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sometimes a Bargain Really is a Bargain

Impulse buying is a two-edged sword. You may end up with a good bargain that is completely useless. However, I think I won this time.

Yesterday was a busy day of appointments and errands.

I started off by hitting the local Target in search of a jigsaw puzzle to to share with my Mom when I see her this weekend. She keeps fretting about not being entertaining when I visit, so I thought I'd bring some activity with me. We used to do puzzles together many years ago. I was a sickly child and was often in need of sedentary entertainment. Is that where I acquired no desire to exercise?

Anyway, on the way to the puzzle section I passed the summer closeouts.

Lo! There were nicely packaged Eddie Bauer sets for bocce and croquet for 1/2 price. Two of my favortie lawn games in easily transportable and storable forms. How could I resist?

I'm rather pleased to know the next time I head off to an outdoor event I can bring a little fun with me, if I like. The last time I played bocce was with Siobhain and Aryanna, and we had a very pleasant time of it. I should like to create more such opportunties. At least after the weather turns in the spring.


I now have proof occular that DC is a third world city.

This morning I saw a woman transporting a catered sandwich platter by balancing it on her head. Very impressive. I'd love to be able to do that. Posture and balance are beyond me.


I am going to refuse to answer the phone at home for the next five days. The incessant campaign calls are annoying beyond words, and would prejudice me against the candidate for their rude intrusiveness.

Deep breath. Chant the mantra "I am sincerely grateful to live in a society with free elections."

12:06 p.m. - 2006-11-02
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora