terrshee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I Do My Crash Test Dummy Imitation

Oh, the irony.

Yesterday I visited my local Subaru dealer. I had yielded to temptation and decided I'd go ahead and get that Forester. The price was just too good to miss.

The guaranteed trade in value was predicated on low mileage and good condition. This means under 75,000 miles and no accidents.

The salesman and I agreed on a price, but I told him I would wait until mid-month in order to get the loan payment timing where I wanted it.

I joked with him that all I had to do was not drive across the country and/or hit a deer for the next two weeks.

This morning I drove up to Pennsylvania to see Mom. We had a very nice visit.

Around 5:00 I hit the road home.

Around 6:00 I had just crossed the Mason-Dixon line, abiding by the speed limit and watching for deer because there were many warning signs and carcasses telling me to be careful.

I got to see the deer. Up close and personal.

I have to bless good reflexes and antilock brakes that it was no worse than it was.

The hood is crumpled, the grill is gone and the headlight housing shattered. But I am unhurt except for what I expect will be a little stiffness tomorrow, and the car is drivable.

The deer, alas, did not immediately perish. Fortunately two gentlemen stopped to assist me and, both being hunters, were equiped to take care of the poor beast. I didn't watch.

They were very kind and made sure my cell phone was working, I got in touch with the police and was ok before they drove off. I thank them with all my heart for their kindness and competence.

I'm shaken, no surprise. I've definitely got a few shock symptoms, but application of food and a hot shower have helped. Some vitamin I and early to bed with a soothing Jane Austen novel will probably do for the rest.

Damn. I wanted that Forester. However, I get this message from my personal goods, loud and clear. At least I've got good insurance.

8:09 p.m. - 2006-11-04
4 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

past tense - always tense - future tense







latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

knitgeek
findlaech
celynen
debsiobhan
the-bookgirl
thjora
dreadbaron
dragonazure
genvieve
mistressrhi
educaitlin
theodora